Reno Food Truck Fridays!

Food Truck Fridays. I cannot tell you how many Fridays I have been disappointed to be at work or otherwise engaged. But now I can finally go, my only worry is that I will get full too quickly. Every first and third Friday of the month the Reno Food Truck gather downtown for fun and merriment. My first experience with a Food Truck was not until after I moved to Reno and was dragged by friend. My small town in Alaska didn’t have much of a demographic for these venues. Anchorage itself didn’t have these small, portable options for food; barring the carts outside of the courthouse or at the fair. As a result of my inexperience with these trucks I was amazed and overwhelmed to see a couple dozen trucks gathered at a local park. I really didn’t know what to expect, but it certainly wasn’t this. Walking up I heard live music and laughter, families were spread out on the expansive lawn watching a local Reno artist perform. The smell of food wafted over to us well before we actually saw the line-up of food. There was a little bit of everything, trucks with restaurants backing them to original businesses; fried everything to vegan wraps.

First, there was the well-known BoDawgs, a regular fixture on the college campus. Their dawgs are soaked in their special sauce and you have total control over your toppings. I tried, and loved, my dawg with Bodacious sauce, mayo, pineapple, and the pickled pink onions. The last bite of the dawg is a mixture of pleasure and disappointment, disappointment of no more food. Next is the Electric Blue Elephant, a vegan-friendly option, where I had their sesame-sunflower curry wrap. This wrap was surprisingly fulfilling and filled with a wide variety of vegetables, the only downside is that it is incredibly messy to eat. We then got something to drink at the lemonade stand, freshly squeezed strawberry-lemonade, nothing would have been more refreshing. The grand finale came in the form of cheesecake, cheesecake topped with lavender honey. While a bit overpriced the dessert itself was rich and a nice way to wrap up the evening.

I learned a lot this trip, first, Reno residents love their local food. Second, food truck culture is more popular than I thought. Finally, I should really invest in a folding chair, people will stare at you if you suddenly jump off the grass and away from a spider. Overall I had a blast and hope to make this a regular event that I attend. And who knows, Reno folks, I may see you there!!

BoDawgs!

BoDawgs!

Leave a comment